Sign Up for Updates

Franchises and Superheroes Dominate Inside Licensing’s Chart of Upcoming Films image

Franchises and Superheroes Dominate Inside Licensing’s Chart of Upcoming Films

Sequels and superheroes. As increasingly has been the case for the film for the past few years, that’s largely what’s on tap for upcoming major film releases through 2021.

The accompanying chart of films slated for 2018 and beyond, assembled by Inside Licensing, is notable in past for the large number of projects that end with a digit, i.e. Transformers 6, Incredibles 2, Mission Impossible 6, Hotel Transylvania 3. Those may not end up as the formal names of those films once they hit theaters, but they reinforce the “franchizification” of the film business.   

Superheroes also are being queued up with such films as Aquaman (Dec. 21, 2018), Captain Marvel (March 8, 2019), Black Panther (Feb. 16, 2018) and The Flash (2020) all getting individual star treatment.

To be sure, there’s always room for the surprise hit – Frozen, anyone? Anime also will be getting more play with Lionsgate readying Viz Media’s Naruto, while mobile games will also be represented, notably via Microsoft’s “Minecraft” project (May 24, 2019) from Warner Bros. The surprise hit mobile game “Five Nights at Freddy’s” also is being prepped for a movie with Blumhouse Productions, having taken over production after Warner Bros. bowed out earlier this year.

When reading the chart, it’s important to note that, as always, the dates for these films often change for competitive, financial, production, casting and other reasons.

Information for this chart was gathered via inquiries to the studios and their representatives, supplemented by material in a variety of online databases and press reports. 

Click here to view the Film Chart.

 

Contacts:

Disney Consumer Products, Josh Silverman, EVP Global Licensing, 818-544-0041, josh.silverman@disney.com

Hasbro, Simon Waters, General Manager SVP Consumer Products and Entertainment, 818-478-4804, simon.waters@hasbro.com

Lionsgate, Sheila Clarke, SVP Consumer Products, 310-255-3612, sclarke@lionsgate.com

Nickelodeon, Pam Kaufman, Consumer Products President and Chief Marketing Officer, 212-846-4430,  pam@kaufman@nick.com

Paramount, Bil Bertini, SVP Worldwide Licensing, 323-956-5371, Bil_bertini@paramount.com

Sony Pictures Consumer Products, Jamie Stevens, EVP Consumer Products, 310-244-6189, Jamie_Stevens@spe.sony.com

20th Century Fox Licensing and Merchandising, Jim Fielding, President Consumer Products,310-369-3900, jim.fielding@fox.com

Universal Brand Development, Manuel Torres Port, EVP Worldwide Consumer Products, 818-777-5238, manuel.torresport@nbcuni.com

Warner Bros. Consumer Products, Maryellen Zarakas, SVP Franchise Management and Marketing, 818-954-4170, maryellen.zarakas@warnerbros.com

become a member today

learn more

  • Copyright © 2024 Licensing International
  • Translation provided by Google Translate, please pardon any shortcomings

    int(218)